2004-05-02 : Running in Place
Just the other day Katie and I hauled the treadmill that was collecting dust in our back den out to the curb. We realized halfway out, that it was difficult to carry and damn heavy. I laughed at us because here we were trying to drag this piece of exercise equipment out to the street and were having to struggle because we were out of shape.

Ironic how that worked out. Maybe if we had used it, it wouldn't have been so damn hard. Or, maybe, we wouldn't have had to get rid of it in the first place.

It's kinda like that with a lot of things, though. I guess people don't realize that if you don't use somethings, that they just go away or we forget how to use them. These things, whatever they may be, lay discarded and unused and fall into decay and then they don't work right when you actually try to put them to use.

Same thing happened to that stupid treadmill. We tried to use it, but then it became so infrequent that it was more of a pain in the ass to have than to keep. It broke and we didn't fix it right away, so that led to even less use, until we completely stopped.

Anyway, I'm taking advantage of this little lesson that I have learned with this big, bulky piece of machinery that got me moving but in no particular direction. I am not letting myself sit idly by while I fall apart from lack of use.

I will get up and exercise my brain, heart, and body.

I will not forget to take care of me.

I will believe in the unbelievable so that I may not neglect my imagination.

I will remember that staying in one place isn't a bad thing, as long as I never move backwards.

It's the same as the treadmill - running in one place gets you absolutely nowhere, but it's better than sitting on your ass.

Oh yeah, whatever happened to that damn thing? I don't know. I looked out the window today and realized that it was gone, but I don't know when it ever went away.

Makes you think, eh?

last * next