2004-02-02 : Honesty
I don't know about everyone else, but I never have thought that honesty was a secondary trait to look for in a person.

I always thought that the people that I surrounded myself by would be at least semi-honest with me.

I always thought that I was cool enough to be let in on things...that people never felt the need to hide things from me.

Apparently I was wrong. This week has shown me that.

Certain people have been so dishonest that I cannot even fathom it. And, not only that, but it just hasn't been me that they have been dishonest with. The burden has mainly fallen on Katie, and, to put it bluntly, it is bullshit.

One of these people has been a best friend of mine for almost ten years and he was dishonest with the one person who is closest to me right now. I trusted him enough to let him into Katie's life and he appears to have been lying this whole time.

Why is it that honesty has become overrated?

Why is it that people cannot imagine a reality without lies, fibs, or some stretching of the truth?

I admit, I have been a liar. A fibber. a stretcher of the truth.

But, when it comes down to it, I have not lied about the big things. The things that matter. The things that hurt when found out.

I like to think that I am open to most things. I will befriend you even if you tell me that you hate a certain type of person. I will accept you if you do not push your views on me, but are up front about them. I will give you love, even if you are sleeping with someone else. All you have to do is let me know...let me know where I stand.

Don't put me in the dark. Don't let me believe in you, only to find that you don't believe in yourself.

Show me the true and real you.

Reality is a hard and ugly thing, and those who can love it are rare.

Love me for who and what I am and I promise to never hide the deformities that make up me.

Love me and I will love you for the mess that makes up you.

Just be honest.

Be true to you and you will find life a much better place to be.

And, I honestly promise you, I will never hide anything from you.

last * next