2004-09-10 : Email Rage
So, I get this email today from this girl who has been my best friend forever and it totally pissed me off.

I opened the email because the subject was the last name of this girl we went to high school with. Back then we were all great friends and did everything together. Lately, I've become much better friends with her brother (of course, that sort of thing does happen after you've slept together countless times).

Anyway,to give the background story, back in 1997 when we graduated and went our separate ways, this girl who was the subject of the email went out to California for school and I stayed here in South Carolina. Yes, it's a long way, but since we were all such good friends, the distance should be no problem for us, right?

Well, as it turns out, we were wrong. She told her brother that when you grow up you need to get new friends. That's fine and all, but aren't you supposed to keep the old ones too?

Well, over the years I have said hello to her in public and been ignored, sent her emails that were never answered, and in general have not spoken to her since May of 1997.

Basically, I have considered her to be one of those friends that just fell away and now we are pretty much just acquaintances. I thought that was all well and good. I've long gotten over the snub that she gave not only me, but all of her friends back home. Life's too short to worry about who wants to talk to you or not. I've got plenty of friends and I'm just plain not fucking worried about it.

So, to get back to this email...

My best friend forwads me a copy of California girl's email to her because she "mentions" me. My best friend also goes on to say I need to get over being angry at this other girl.

What? Is she fucking kidding me?

Just so you understand-here's the email, in abbreviated form:

Kelley sent this email to me the other day.

I just wanted to forward it to you b/c I thought it was

nice that she was asking about you.

You maybe should let by-gones be by-gones!

I mean, it was almost 10 years ago......

Anywhoooooo....

Love you and Miss you, Lindsey Re

Katie's wedding was beautiful. Our bridesmaid dresses were really pretty too, which is always awesome. It was like a trip back in time at the reception. There were so many people from CN that I hadn't seen in forever.

I am looking for a new job right now because I am tired of working on weekends. I work most everyweekend now as a party planner. I am coming home Oct. 23rd for a wedding Charleston and I am bringing Justin with me. I will keep you posted on our plans. Are you getting up to Columbia at all lately? Write me soon! How is Amanda doing these days?

I've edited a lot of that email, but the important parts were what my friend had to say about the last line consisting of six fucking words.

Do you see what I mean. This shit tottally pisses me off. Just because she asked about me doesn't mean a damn thing. It's just being polite, like asking about someone's family or their health. Most of the time you don't really care, it's just fucking polite.

The last thing I need is a goddamn lecturre on letting "by-gones be by-gones."

My bad, I thought I let that shit go years ago.

Anyone else want to let me know who I should give a fuck about?

Cause if you do, keep to your fucking self.

last * next