2004-04-05 : I Am So Cool
No one believes me when I say that I dance alone with the music turned all the way up. I have yet to figure out why they stare at me in disbelief when I reveal this part of me. It seems so normal to me to let loose and feel myself spinning out of control without having to worry about what other people are thinking about when they see me being just plain old me. I guess it has never occurred to me that I am probably in the minority of the population that does this.

Of course, I am often the minority in a lot of things. Most of them, some people would label as shortcomings...things that I should be working on to improve.

Well, I think that those people are wrong. And, to show you what I mean, here is what makes me, well, me, faults and all:

I laugh at the completely wrong times, like during funerals or serious speeches. I tend to drop things and run into stuff much more than the average klutz. I am not emotional until I am on my period and a stupid commercial about kids giving presents to old people comes on the TV and then I lose all composure.

In addition, I am not easily embarrassed. Like I said, I am not coordinated, so tripping or falling down aren't much cause for turning red. And don't even think that, as a girl, bodily functions bother me. In fact, I think that they are funny as hell and have developed a hierarchy on the types of shitting that one does. Oh yeah, all of my friends have adopted it as the utter truth. In addition to bathroom stuff, I've had to be the one to claim that it was my tampon that clogged the toilet and flooded the lower level at a friend's house.

I drink too much. It often leads to very funny situations, though, as I am a giddy drunk and not a jackass (at least most of the time). Also, according to one friend, I swear more than a sailor on shore leave.

Also, I've had promiscuous and unprotected sex. But, hey, it was fun promiscuous and unprotected sex. No excuse, I know, but like I said, I drink too much.

Being me means being funny, knowing when you are the butt of the joke, and being able to laugh at it.

Being me means being clueless about the opposite sex and what they want or why they stare when I'm actually dressed up to go out.

Being me means imperfection in its most perfect form.

I've never claimed to be cool. I'm just your average dork in a cool kid's clothing.

So, that's it for now. I'm turning up my music and jamming out all alone.

Why?

Because I can.

last * next