2003-06-17 : What
Here I am - only a few hours since I last left you.

I am drunk.

I am in another world.

I am someone else.

At least, some of the time I would like to be.

Why is it that when we are beside ourselves, we get a more in depth view of who and what we are?

I know that it sounds weird. Who is someone other than they are? How is that possible?

Trust me. It happens.

I am that girl. You know, the one they always warned you about. The girl that seems okay, but then lets you know that she is a closet freak.

I don't mean freaky in a crazy sort of way...but then again, I do...

I'm never quite sure...

Never sure of what to say, what to do, what to be...

I've never wanted to be that girl. Everyone knows who I'm talking about. The one who always knows what to say and what to do. The one with the perfect manners and the perfact makeup.

I don't want to be her. Please don't make me be her.

Please don't make me be her.

I've never really given much thought to the person that I would like to be. However, I have given a lot of thought to the person that I would never become.

I will never be close minded.

I will never base my decision on race, color, or creed.

I will never let my conscious get the better of me.

I will never trust anyone who gives away things for "free".

I will never be anything other than the true me.

But the question still remains: who is the real and true me?

I'm not sure yet.

Maybe I never will be sure.

It's okay with me. I'm sure that sometime in my life I will figure out what is happening.

Until then, I will attempt to enjoy every minute as if it were my last.

Because you never know...

It just might be...

last * next