2003-09-11 : Two Years
Today being what it is, I thought that might forgo all of my own troubles and think about other people in my life and how lucky I am to have all of them, as well as all of the things that I take for granted each day.

I am very thankful for the following people:

Mom, Dad, Zack, Lindsey, Erin, Kenny, Sid, Lindsey Dene, Turtle, Raiessa, Amy, Katie, John, Jamie, Robert, Jordan...well, actually, all of you, even those of you who I don't know so well. You mean more to me than anything in the world. My life just wouldn't be complete without you. All of you make a difference...because all of you have changed my life.

I am also thankful for things that others don't have. Things like available education and healthcare...even cable TV. Not everybody can have these things and I am happy to say that I live in a place that has access to all of this.

I can't imagine growing up somewhere that all of the people have to struggle each day. I know that it is a struggle each day here in the US, but we have assistance available to us if we want it, even when we are in the most hopeless of situations.

And I am grateful.

I am grateful that no one that I love had to die two years ago to remind me of this.

I am grateful that those who did die have been acknowledged as heroes, even if they were frightened...as I would have been if I was in their shoes.

I am grateful that tragedy has turned into triumph, as we are still whole and united...however different our opinions may be.

That is what makes us great.

The ability to look at what we have and know what is strong and what is weak.

The ability to criticize that which we find to be contrary to our beliefs.

The ability to actively work toward a goal that is completely different than the one our government wants.

It's freedom.

I am free to say what I want about any subject that I want.

I am free to be a member of any religion that I wish to be a member of.

I am free to be me (as the song said many years ago).

Oh, nothing can possibly taste as sweet as a breath of freedom.

Think of what you would not have if you were not free...

It terrifies me.

So, to all of you who had to sacrifice your life on this anniversary...thank you.

Thank you for reminding me of what it is to be American.

Thank you for reminding me of the liberties that I have and take for granted each day.

Thank you for making all of us more aware.

Thank you for being my hero.

last * next